About Us

Rugby Federation of Uzbekistan was established in 2002. In 2002 URF has become a full member of ARFU (Asian Rugby Football Union) and full member of World Rugby (ex IRB)  from 14 may 2014. Rugby 7’s National Championship of Uzbekistan is regularly held among men’s and women’s teams. From 2011 for the first time in 20 years we’ve started regular Rugby-15 National Championship among men’s teams, which involved 6 teams:

  1. Tashkent Lions
  2. Qanot Rugby club
  3. National University of Uzbekistan
  4. Aviator
  5. Yangiyer
  6. Shifokor (Medical University)

In 2012 men’s national team participated in international Rugby-7 tournament in Lahore (Pakistan) among the strongest teams in Asia, as well as invited teams from Ireland and New Zealand. Women’s national team is a bronze medalist of Rugby-15 championship in 2008 As a Rugby-7’s announced as a Olympic discipline from 2016 we focused in getting a license to have a women’s team participated in Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. Because we have very high chances. Men’s team is taking part in annual “Asian Five Nations” tournament. Currently we are in division 4, but have all chances to be promoted to division 3 in 2014. Recently we received a decision of Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of the Uzbekistan, giving permission for the construction of a first biggest Rugby Camp in pre-mountain area with a highest international standards, which can be used not only by Rugby teams. In addition specialized and equipped rugby pitch in city centre will be given under possession of Rugby Federation, it will be second rugby pitch in Tashkent. In 2013 Championship 10 teams participated:

  1. West Tigers (Westminster International University in Tashkent)
  2. National University of Uzbekistan
  3. Aviator
  4. Yangiyer
  5. Tashkent Lions
  6. Navoi (Navoi region)
  7. Dustlik (Djizakh region)
  8. Shifokor (State Medical University)
  9. Yoshlik (Turakurgan region)
  10. Turakurgan 2 (Turakurgan region)